International Committee: Africa

The committee has the following objectives

      • To support the growth of actuarial societies on the rest of the African continent,
      • To work with those actuarial societies on the rest of the continent to support input on legislation in general and including the ability of the FASSA designation to be recognised in the practice areas in which actuaries work,
      • To support the education and continual professional development of students and members who operate on the rest of the African continent, and
      • To maintain stakeholder contacts in countries where ASSA members may have professional work and interest.

The committee members are


Name Role Countries for which they are committee liaison
Karabo Morule Chairperson
Simba Takawira Committee secretary,
IAA Africa Task Force representative
Janice Angrove Regulations and Guidance workgroup lead
Pedrie Le Roux Liaison Committee workgroup lead

Namibia, Morocco, Côte d’Ivoire, Benin, Senegal, Togo and Tunisia


Louis van As CPD and Events workgroup lead Zimbabwe and Zambia
Warren Humphries Member Lesotho
Giles Waugh Member Botswana
Andrew Gladwin Member eSwatini, Malawi, Ghana and Nigeria
GJ Mellet Member Tanzania and Uganda
Tarryn Fahy Member eSwatini, Ghana and Nigeria
Niel Fourie ASSA staff actuary
Sieg Visser Member
Philip Barnard Member
Michael Tichareva Africa Education Strategy
Takalani Sikhavhakhavha Alternate to Giles Waugh
Bode Olajumoke Member
Heinrich de Kock Member
Hassan Kaniki Member Angola and Mozambique (tbc)
Normal Kelly Member