The Short-term Insurance Committee is responsible for developing the interest of the profession in the Short-term Insurance industry.

The committee’s scope is Short-term Insurance actuarial work performed by actuaries in general, and by statutory actuaries in particular in terms of the Short-term Insurance Act.

The objective of the committee is to develop the interests of the profession with regard to Short-term Insurance, as follows:

  • To actively support the development and thought leadership of actuarial practice in the areas where actuaries apply actuarial techniques and theory in the Short-term Insurance industry through the development of Actuarial Practice Notes, the provision of CPD events, and the facilitation of research activities.
  • To contribute to the strategic direction of the Actuarial Society from the perspective of Short-term Insurance and, in so doing, to support the Actuarial Society brand promise of “thought leadership”.
  • To provide input to the Financial Services Board in order to influence legislation affecting Short-term Insurers.
  • To provide support for the Actuarial Society’s education initiatives in relation to Short-term Insurance.

The committee includes:

  • The STIC Chair and secretary as well as the Chairs of the various subcommittees, an actuary from the FSB and a representative from the Actuarial Society Executive Committee.
  • Representatives from ASABA, SAICA, SAIA.
  • Industry representatives for both insurers and reinsurers.

The committee members are as follows:

Committee Member Position
Sias Esterhuizen Chair
Nikita Harilal Secretary
Niel Fourie Representative: Actuarial Society
Thandanani Mbhele Representative: ASABA
Andre Janse Van Vuuren Representative: Industry
Ryk Coetzee Representative: Industry
Susan Atkinson Representative: Industry
Christiaan Ahlers Representative: Prudential Authority
Kondelelani Muthaphuli Representative: Prudential Authority Alternate
Pamela Ramagaga Representative: SAIA
Andrew Taylor Representative: SAICA
Ricardo Govender STIC Liaison: ASSA Climate Risk Committee
Ronald Richman STIC Liaison: ASSA ERM Committee
Niba Ibrahim STIC Liaison: ASSA Market Conduct Committee
Paballo Makupu STIC Liaison: Inequality in Insurance
Paballo Makupu Subcommittee: Communication
Nicola Viljoen Subcommittee: CPD
Hilda Vigoureux Subcommittee: Education
Thandanani Mbhele Subcommittee: Emerging Matters
Kevin Ross Subcommittee: Research
Lisa Pines Subcommittee: Practice Certificate
Annemarie Sinclair Subcommittee: Professional Guidance
Sajiv Issuree Subcommittee: Research

Visit the past presentations webpage for Short-term Insurance papers and presentations from past professional events of the Actuarial Society.

Refer to Standards of Practice and Guidance Notes HERE

Please refer to the Practice Area Activities for details on committee activities and events.

Information on practicing certificates is available under Professional matters.

Professional guidance:
Series 400 – General Insurance Advisory Practice Note

Please refer to the document archive for relevant documents.

You can contact the STIC committee through Nikita Daya at