Activities of committee / mandate of committee

The Banking Committee was established to consider the current and potential actuarial involvement in this area. The committee’s objectives include investigation of key issues in the banking environment and providing guidance to actuaries practising in this environment.

The growing demand for the actuarial skills set has seen the number of actuaries and actuarial students in the banking environment grow significantly. The Banking committee was established to consider the current and future actuarial involvement in banking.

The committee has set the following main objectives:

  • Consider, from the point of view of the actuarial profession, matters relating to Banking.
  • Advise the actuarial profession on all matters relating to Banking related activities.
  • Lead in the development of educational material and professional guidance for actuaries.
  • Engage in research, which provides further insights into Banking.
  • Provide quality sessional meetings, at least three times a year.

Who are the committee

The committee members are as follows:

Email Name Surname Role Ania Botha Vice-Chair KPMG Pravin Burra Standard Bank Alistair Bye Examinations FNB Kudzai Chigiji Chair WesBank Niel Fourie Council ASSA Simon Greenberg ABSA Ross Harris FNB Richardt Hechter Education Discovery Antonie Jagga Education PWC Jihad Jhaveri Education Kagiso AM Amon Magunje Research WesBank Jerome Mahadeo Education ABSA Tsitsi Makoni Secretary WesBank Katlego Mogale Events IAC Kudakwashe Mupandawana Research Nedbank Kudzai Mushininga Education, Events Telesure Motlatsi Mutlanyane Council MMI Niraj Rijhumal Education Old Mutual Thomas Sithole Events, Research, Education Michael Tichareva Past chair National Standard Rolf van den Heever Examinations ABSA Mark Steinhaus Resigned, but happy to be reached out on an ad hoc basis Gerber Schnetler Resigned

Presentations and articles

Visit the past presentations page for Banking and Finance papers and presentations from past professional events of the Actuarial Society.

Useful links

Please refer to the Practice Area Activities for details on committee activities and events.

Relevant documents
Terms of reference

Contact information

Committe memberPosition

Michael Tichareva
Ania Botha
Richardt Hechter