BANKING COMMITTEE

Activities of committee / mandate of committee

The Banking Committee was established to consider the current and potential actuarial involvement in this area. The committee’s objectives include investigation of key issues in the banking environment and providing guidance to actuaries practising in this environment.

The growing demand for the actuarial skills set has seen the number of actuaries and actuarial students in the banking environment grow significantly. The Banking committee was established to consider the current and future actuarial involvement in banking.

The committee has set the following main objectives:

  • Consider, from the point of view of the actuarial profession, matters relating to Banking.
  • Advise the actuarial profession on all matters relating to Banking related activities.
  • Lead in the development of educational material and professional guidance for actuaries.
  • Engage in research, which provides further insights into Banking.
  • Provide quality sessional meetings, at least three times a year.

Who are the committee


The committee members are as follows:

Email Name Surname Role
Ania.Botha@kpmg.co.za Ania Botha Vice-Chair KPMG
Pravin.Burra@standardbank.co.za Pravin Burra Standard Bank
ABye@fnb.co.za Alistair Bye Examinations FNB
chigiji.kudzai@gmail.com Kudzai Chigiji Chair WesBank
nfourie@actuarialsociety.org.za Niel Fourie Council ASSA
Simon.Greenberg@absa.co.za Simon Greenberg ABSA
Rharris1@fnb.co.za Ross Harris FNB
Richardt.Hechter@VitalityGroup.com Richardt Hechter Education Discovery
antonie.jagga@sg.pwc.com Antonie Jagga Education PWC
JJhaveri@kagisoam.com Jihad Jhaveri Education Kagiso AM
amagunje@wesbank.co.za Amon Magunje Research WesBank
Jerome.Mahadeo@absa.co.za Jerome Mahadeo Education ABSA
tsimak09@gmail.com Tsitsi Makoni Secretary WesBank
katzmogale@gmail.com Katlego Mogale Events IAC
KudakwasheM@nedbank.co.za Kudakwashe Mupandawana Research Nedbank
kudzaim@telesure.co.za Kudzai Mushininga Education, Events Telesure
motlatsim@gmail.com Motlatsi Mutlanyane Council MMI
NRijhumal@oldmutual.com Niraj Rijhumal Education Old Mutual
sithole_thomas@yahoo.co.uk Thomas Sithole Events, Research, Education
MTichareva@NatStandard.com Michael Tichareva Past chair National Standard
rolf.vandenheever@absacapital.com Rolf van den Heever Examinations ABSA
MSteinhaus@fnb.co.za Mark Steinhaus Resigned, but happy to be reached out on an ad hoc basis
gerberschnetler@gmail.com Gerber Schnetler Resigned

Presentations and articles

Visit the past presentations page for Banking and Finance papers and presentations from past professional events of the Actuarial Society.

Useful links

Please refer to the Practice Area Activities for details on committee activities and events.

Relevant documents
Terms of reference

Contact information

Committe memberPosition

Michael Tichareva michael@tich-icg.co.za
Ania Botha Ania.Botha@kpmg.co.za
Richardt Hechter RichardtH@Discovery.co.za